Don’t Worry…Be Grateful


Sometimes I get in a “funky” mood and by funky, I mean lousy, cranky, yucky.  Understanding the Law of Attraction as I (am beginning to) do, I know how important it is to feel good.  So when I find myself in a ho-hum mood, I understand the only thing I can possibly attract is other ho-hum things~ like a stubbed toe, or a spilled cup of coffee, or a cat throwing up on the rug.  Like attracts like, so if I’m feeling yucky, my main objective is to feel just a little bit better~ as soon as humanly possible.

One of the best ways (and depending on the degree of funk, perhaps the only way) I know to feel better is through gratitude.  This happens automatically when we hear of a tragedy, doesn’t it?  All of a sudden, we seem to be clearly aware of how truly fortunate we are.  The truth is, we certainly don’t need to learn of a tragedy to thoughtfully appreciate all that we have~ but sometimes we just forget.

Whatever we might be dealing with; no matter how dissatisfied we may feel with our current circumstances, we all have a LOT to be grateful for.  Take a moment and think about all the things we take for granted~ our eyes and ears, our home, our computer, our kidneys and lungs, our car, our family and friends.  All the things we just “count on” to be there for us.  Now just imagine waking up tomorrow morning without any one these things.  WHOA!  And Woe!  Talk about a bad day!

Take the time to appreciate all those “givens” in your life.  And the next time you find yourself in a funky mood, sit down (or stand up, your choice) and make a list of all the things you are grateful for; all the things you count on to be there everyday and to work for you.  Once you get started, you’ll be amazed at how long your list gets.  You’ll also be amazed at how much better you feel.  When you feel good, you attract good, so use the tool of gratitude to make today a great day.

6 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Gratitude

6 responses to “Don’t Worry…Be Grateful

  1. So very true! I keep a gratitude journal and it is amazing how much difference it makes when you WRITE down those things that you are grateful for 🙂

  2. Whitney

    I was doing this after hearing about the earthquake in Christchurch last week. I don’t think I’ve ever woken up in the morning and thought “gee, I’m so grateful I have power and running water in my house” (a few of my friends over there don’t as a result of the quake)…or “thank goodness the earth isn’t cracking open under my feet right now.” But I should! It definitely sometimes takes a tragedy to open your eyes to all the amazing things you’ve already got.

  3. Pingback: How Can We Feel Good When Things Are Bad? | Mind Over Matter

  4. Pingback: Let’s Celebrate What Didn’t Happen | Mind Over Matter

Leave a Reply

