Well, What Did You Expect?


So much of what happens to us is influenced by our expectations.  For instance, when I go to the grocery store or the mall, I get the absolute best parking spot in the lot.  When I go to get my hair cut, the primo spot, right in front of the salon, opens up just as I’m ready to pull in.  When this happens I feel grateful (and a little giddy), because it’s such a great example of the influence our thinking has on our results.  I expect a great parking spot and I almost always get one.  (I think my kids silently hope I don’t get the good spot, just so they can show me how “this stuff doesn’t work!”  Sorry kiddos~Yes it does!!!)

Many times we sabotage ourselves by expecting or imagining the worst.  If we’re running late and we’re thinking “I bet I’m gonna have to park a mile away and be even later…”, guess what?  That primo spot is probably not going to be open.  Or worse yet, someone pulls in just a moment before we would have. Grrrrrrrrr!

Someone (I can never remember who said the quote) once said “Our attitude at the beginning of a task, more than any other single factor, determines our results.”  So, the good news is, our expectations really do influence our outcome.  The bad news is, our expectations really do influence our outcomes.

What do you have on your agenda today?  Most likely, your day includes depending on other people or circumstances to run smoothly?  If so, do yourself a favor and expect the people to agree with your way of thinking, even if it’s unlikely they will.  If you’re running late, expect all the lights to be green.  And definitely expect the primo parking spot to be available, right at the moment you’re ready to pull in.

Great expectations produce great results~ Expect a great day today!

4 Comments

Filed under Attitude, Law of Attraction, Perception, Personal Development

4 responses to “Well, What Did You Expect?

  1. Whitney

    I’m not positive, but I think the quote you mentioned was first said by the famous philosopher Jack Ryan…you know, the ‘optimist sees the donut’ guy. 😀
    I’ll definitely be putting this post to use at work today…

  2. MP

    Another great blog, MOM! You are awesome! Thanks. ~mp

Leave a Reply

